Nostalgia, Anticipation, and Packing

20130722-085626.jpg

Our little home in Stuttgart. I would never have thought that a high-rise would feel like home.

It is hard to believe that in a few days I will be waking up in a new town, in a new apartment, next to my new school. So much needs to be done before we leave that I really have no space in my mind to imagine or dream about what life will be like in our new home. As we flew into Stuttgart this weekend I got a little nostalgic. It was just 4 years ago that we arrived in Stuttgart with 5 suitcases to a new country and a new job. I was so excited and all seemed new and full of possibilities.

I instantly loved our new town, my new job, and the German culture. Walking through the halls of my school for the first time, I felt as if I had always been there. My colleagues were welcoming, my students were fantastic, and the school, even with all its flaws, challenged me each day to be a better teacher. As time passed my love of this place grew even though life at work was getting increasingly more stressful, taking more and more time from my family. I vowed that when we came to Germany I would be more about family and less about work, yet work seemed to creep in everywhere. An opportunity a little to the north presented itself, and I knew it was time to consider moving on to a new chapter in our life in Germany.

Yet driving up to Asemwald on Saturday, seeing the gigantic highrises tower above the fields of Hohenheim, I couldn’t help but be a little sad. This place really had become our home. Our friends are here. We have a pleasant rhythm to our lives. We have our favorite bakery. I have glorious trails to run on. The residents of our little dorf know us and greet us when we see them. And sitting under the canopy of the chestnuts at Garbe is one of the best places to sip a beer in the heat of the German summer.

But there is so much to look forward to. Our daughter is getting very excited about her first year of school. Waiting for us in our mail box was an introduction from her teacher. I received my first week’s itinerary from my new employer. Lots of meetings and trainings await me in that first week, but it all starts off with a wine fest and city tour. Looks like my school knows how to greet its newcomers.

There is much uncertainty and much sadness, but also happy anticipation. Who will be our new best friends? What new things will I learn? Where will be our new hangouts? What activities will be included in our typical Saturday? But most of all there is the hope of finding a new balance in life.

To new beginnings. And now on to the packing.

 

3 replies

    • That’s a whole other blog post. How is it the neighbors from a small town in Washington State end up neighbors in Germany? Will let you know via PM. Thanks for the offer.

  1. We’ll definitely be very sad when you’re gone. One family less. One family we loved as good neighbours. We never took enough time together in our ‘secret garden’. Too much ‘mañana’. As always. Now who’ll I talk with in the morning bus? Who’ll bring us chickensoup when we’re all sick in our beds?

    Hope you won’t forget about those strange germans in Block A that didn’t put their kids in the kindergarden right under their balcony but drove them to Hohenheim or Degerloch.

    Anyhow. You’ll always find fresh memories to your vertical Dorf on our/my website 😉 Be our guest. At least there. 😦

    Yours: (Katrin, Eva, Tilman and) Stefan

Leave a Reply

